Wonderfully Strange

I can’t quite explain the interest I have in jewelry featuring insects. (Fake insects, in case anyone reading this doesn’t quite follow my train of thought.) This morning I was browsing an InStyle magazine in a cafe when I came across a little article where I saw a gold bracelet and/or necklace that was a row of four or so insects. Maybe they were in the form of flying bugs, maybe spiders, maybe one of each. My brain wasn’t switched on. I’m so eager to find out who designed them so I can get my neck wrist hands on one!

Google image search found me this beauty.

Apparently it was sold on Etsy on July 18, 2012. What? That was two weeks ago or something ridiculously recent!

Etsy is a gold mine and I didn’t need to search far – the designer who made this amazing jewel-encrusted spider seems to have a few wonderfully strange ideas; the best kind. (Note: I went straight to the jewelry section so to avoid feeling overwhelmed.)

I really appreciate the way neither of these look tacky in any way.

Inspired by Schiaparelli and Dali, this beauty is a gold plated chain with a Swarovski crystal eye and tear drop. Buy it here. How could you not?

One day soon I’ll need to brave the rest of Batcakes Couture‘s shop.

5 responses to “Wonderfully Strange

  1. i love that spider necklace

  2. Thank you for this blog post. I love it! And I really appreciate it.
    I am working on getting more spiders made. I like to keep them elegant and “not tacky in any way” (I may have to use that 😉
    I will keep you posted as to when I make these again.
    Love,
    Batcakes

  3. Pingback: My Kinda Woman | WE KICK IT

Leave a Reply

